New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Web Design and Hosting Creating sites, scripting, and hosting discussions.

Good retail wed design software?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

GARoss

GARoss is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: iMac 24", 2.66GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4Gb RAM, 640Gb HD, 8Gb iPod (thanks son!)

I'm asking those who know as, obviously, I am new at this. In searching this site it appears RapidWeaver & iWeb are more for personal use rather than retail.

One of the things on my wife's honey-do list is to design a website where she can sell her homemade products. We'd need to list 100 or more products with description, pricing & photos (a zoom photo feature would be nice). And, a secure internet connection where buyers could use PayPal, etc is a must.

Are RapidWeaver or iWeb candidates or another software company?
QUOTE Thanks
todd51

I think you would be better off using a Content Management System such as Joomla, Drupal, or even Wordpress (all of them are free) for a personal sales site like this. Selling items over the Internet usually requires MySQL databases along with PHP, which would take a long time for a beginner to start coding from scratch.

WordPress is very easy to get the hang of once installed on a web server. There are many plugins out there that allow you to do all kinds of things. Do some research on the CMSs I listed.

As far as designing a site, Dreamweaver is always the professional way to go, although it is expensive.
QUOTE Thanks
podraig