New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Web Design and Hosting Creating sites, scripting, and hosting discussions.

Creating a web server

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

m.watson

m.watson is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: Macbook pro 15" 2gb RAM 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo Proccessor

Hello everyone. I'm new in this subject. The reason why I'm here is because I want to create my own web server and I'm a real newbie in this matter...So, can someone tell me what can I do to learn the basics of "how to create a web server"?

Thanks a lot
QUOTE Thanks
vansmith

vansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 2012 13" MBP (2.5 i5, 8GB)

You can do a simple setup on your Mac with what is already included. Open System Preferences > Sharing > Web Sharing. With this on, you can place files in your ~/Sites folder and it will be accessible by browsing to http://<your ip/~<user name>. When you turn on Web Sharing, it will tell you this under "Your personal website:".