Specs:
    Macbook pro 15" 2gb RAM 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo Proccessor
    Creating a web server
    Hello everyone. I'm new in this subject. The reason why I'm here is because I want to create my own web server and I'm a real newbie in this matter...So, can someone tell me what can I do to learn the basics of "how to create a web server"?

Thanks a lot

Specs:
    2012 13" MBP (2.5 i5, 8GB)
    You can do a simple setup on your Mac with what is already included. Open System Preferences > Sharing > Web Sharing. With this on, you can place files in your ~/Sites folder and it will be accessible by browsing to http://<your ip/~<user name>. When you turn on Web Sharing, it will tell you this under "Your personal website:".

While this is a quick and easy way to setup a web server, many things won't be available to you right away and if you're behind a router, the page will only be accessible to those behind the router without further configuration. To help you further, it might be more helpful to know what, if anything, in particular you are looking to learn.
    Important Links: Community Guidelines : Use the reputation system if you've been helped.
    M-F Blog :: Write for the blog
    Writing a Quality Post

todd51
    If you want to build a web server that you can get access to through any computer anywhere, your going to need a static IP address from your ISP. Do you have that? If your not sure, then more than likely you have a dynamic IP which will change every once in a while, meaning the address of your server would change.

I looked into this a while ago because I thought it would be a fun project for myself, but unfortunately my ISP will not provide me with a static IP address

If you can get a static IP, let me know how it goes!

Specs:
    2011 MBP, i7, 16GB RAM, MBP 2.16Ghz Core Duo, 2GB ram, Dual 867Mhz MDD, 1.75GB ram, ATI 9800 Pro vid