Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Web Design and Hosting (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/web-design-hosting/)
-   -   Website hosting with Godaddy (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/web-design-hosting/142179-website-hosting-godaddy.html)

iMurali 02-19-2009 02:04 PM

Website hosting with Godaddy

Hi, I am new to this whole website business and I got a hosting account from Godaddy. I also got a domain name and also got my blog ready. But I got stuck at this stage. I am unable to upload this blog onto the Godaddy servers!

I saw that they have their own ftp applet.....but somehow it always keeps on showing that connecting please wait......So, I decided to use cyberduck after googling about the other available options. Now, the thing is I am unable to connect even from cyberduck. I found from the support pages of Godaddy that when I use other ftp clients I have to enter <ftp://www.domainname.com> and I have to keep the start directory simple as"/". I've done all these and also tried another software called "fireftp", but still I am unable to even connect to the host server :(

I am using a college network, one that uses a firewall.......I guess this might be a problem, though I tried using with and also without the proxy server enabled for the ftp protocol.

Some body please help me out!!!

deer dance 02-19-2009 02:41 PM

I'm assuming you're using the Macintosh platform, along with iWeb?

It's likely you're facing compatibility issue.
Meaning, GoDaddy was built to work for Windows.

iMurali 02-19-2009 03:15 PM

@deer dance, thnx......
Yea I designed my blog using iWeb.....
and then I published it to a folder as I could not publish to the godaddy servers
okay I will try to upload this folder through windows and then get back to you :)

iMurali 02-21-2009 11:23 AM

no.....unable to do so even from a windows platform

deer dance 02-21-2009 08:46 PM

Hmm...
Try contacting them for support.

Scott_A 02-27-2009 02:01 PM