Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Web Design and Hosting (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/web-design-hosting/)
-   -   messy flash.. (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/web-design-hosting/14046-messy-flash.html)

design2 02-10-2005 04:54 AM

messy flash..
 
i have problem structuring my flash site.
i have one scene with 5 movie clips as my links/pages
but i have problems when clicking within pages.

for example between my services and about page
ebesign.co.nz/design3
i have just started so would like maybe to read a tutorial or learn quickly
how i can organise it so that i can have buttons inside my movies that come out of the movie to the main scene and then into the desired mov without overlapping..

sorry if this does not make much sense, can;t explain well..

design2

rberry88 02-10-2005 08:11 AM

You are going to have to point the buttons inside of the movies to <parent> so they are associated with that movie and not your main timeline.

Here are a couple of sites that have plenty of tutorials explaining what you need and the forums at these two sites are a great source of information also:

www.kirupaforums.com
www.actionscript.org

design2 02-10-2005 09:27 PM

so what will the tutorial be called? in actionscript..

adamxj2 02-10-2005 10:46 PM

you should really use the load movie functions so the
movie clips do not over lap
yaKnow??

rberry88 02-10-2005 11:12 PM

http://www.actionscript.org/tutorial...es/index.shtml

http://www.kirupa.com/developer/acti...arent_this.htm

Here are two to get you started on the idea, also you can do a search for "loadmovie" which will also help.

design2 02-10-2005 11:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by adamxj2
you should really use the load movie functions so the
movie clips do not over lap
yaKnow??

no.
basically i need to put on all of my movie clips
some code saying if clip.name1 is open close
and then open clip2. and
so on for if clip.name3 is open close and open clip.name1...

i guess i can do this by giving the clip's instance names..
but im not sure about the code, you say load Movie ?
that comes up asking for a url and method, etc is that right?

design2

design2 02-11-2005 05:31 AM

hey rberry ur tutorial was helpful thanks

i didnt need the loadMovie function after all just
on(release){;
gotoandplay(5);
_root.about.gotoAndStop(1);
_root.services.gotoAndStop(1);
}

:)

rberry88 02-11-2005 08:37 AM

Cool, glad it worked out. The loadMovie function is more for loading external movies into your current .swf and helps out if your movies/files are getting pretty large and you want to cut them down some. The _root. and _parent. situation and can be consfusing at first but after using it you see what it does.

design2 02-12-2005 01:55 AM

html php form into flash
 
i have a simple form that post to my action.php file which i want to bring into flash

so i setup all my var with the same values the html fields have ,etc

and used
getURL (action.php", "", "POST");
and though the message sent it was not bringing through any of the information so there was a problem with the fields also it would go to the file. so i del the html off the file so it was just a script but i still need the flash fields to work.

so i heard if you wanted a file to be in the background to use this..
on(click){;
loadVariablesNum ("action.php", 0, "POST");
but now it does not send an email and it just seems to load for ages.

any ideas?

design2 02-12-2005 01:58 AM

also my reset button doesnt work? how do i wipe all var's put in the form?
i tried this but unsuccessful :(

on(click){;
delete form_name;
delete form_email;
delete form_message;
}

i am also using the button components in mx 2004...


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.