Specs:
    iMac = 20-inch, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM, 320GB HD, Leopard. iPod Nano = 4GB, Silver
    Thumbs down How to backup Mail and Contacts?
    Hi

I want to do a regular backup of my Mail which will include all my mail folders and any emails in those folders. How can this be done?

I also want to backup my Address Book contacts, how is this done?

Please give me step-by-step guide as I'm still learning where everything is on my iMac.

thanks

Specs:
    iMac, 20-inch, 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM, 250GB HD, Leopard, 20" Dell Widescreen.
    The only way that I've found is to use time machine with my external hard drive.

Mail - all you should have to do is copy the ~/Library/Mail folder (the ~ is your home directory). You will also have to save the ~/Library/Preferences com.apple.mail.plist file. When you go to restore, just copy the Mail folder back to the ~/Library directory and place the plist file in ~/Library/Preferences.

For Address book - From the Address Book app, select File, then Export, then Address Book Archive. When prompted, tell it the name and path to save the file.

For more info - http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=301239 tells you how to back-up all your important "stuff"

Specs:
    iMac = 20-inch, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM, 320GB HD, Leopard. iPod Nano = 4GB, Silver
    Thank you, that's great info

Quote Originally Posted by bubba View Post
    Mail - all you should have to do is copy the ~/Library/Mail folder (the ~ is your home directory). You will also have to save the ~/Library/Preferences com.apple.mail.plist file. When you go to restore, just copy the Mail folder back to the ~/Library directory and place the plist file in ~/Library/Preferences.

For Address book - From the Address Book app, select File, then Export, then Address Book Archive. When prompted, tell it the name and path to save the file.