New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Backing Up

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Paul G

Hi, I'm relatively new to Macs and I'm constantly seeing articles about backing up. The point is I wouldn't know where to start. What do I use? Back up to what? I understand why I should back up.

Any help will be appreciated.
Paul
QUOTE Thanks
m1k

I don't really back up regularly, because Macs never crash. That's one of the reasons I got a Mac .

They mean either back up to a CD-R or to a FireWire/USB 2.0 external hard drive. You don't really need to, though, in my opinion, because Macs are notoriously stable, and they never get viruses from the internet.

So don't worry about it, unless you're working for some multimillion dollar animation company and your PhotoShop creations are worth hundreds of thousands and losing them could potentially destroy your career. Even then, I would trust my Mac with them
QUOTE Thanks
schweb