New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

New Mac: What to go for? Opinions.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Jez

Jez is on a distinguished road

Right then i have had a MacMini G4 1.42G with 512RAM for about 3 years now and i think its about time for a change as things seem to be slowing down.

I am a freelance web developer that uses, Dreamweaver/Photoshop and Illustrator and when all are open my Mini obviously slows alittle.

So what do people think i should go with, a new iMac or macbook?
Should it be a Macbook Pro or will a Macbook be ok?
I work about 2 days at home and 3 other days in an office where they have computers, so should it be a desktop or laptop?
Minimum for decent speed? As in no pint me paying for more power if i'm never going to use it.

Just general opinions on what would be a good idea, some expert opinion's

Many thanks
QUOTE Thanks
Alexis

Alexis is a jewel in the roughAlexis is a jewel in the roughAlexis is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: Al iMac 20" 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo

Personally I'd hate to do design work on a laptop. Yes the resolutions good, but come on - it's still a titchy screen compared to a desktop.

2gigs of RAM is all you need. Once you've got that, any Mac can run PS and DW quickly.
QUOTE Thanks
charliecrosslan

charliecrosslan will become famous soon enough