New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

New to Mac what tune up programs do i need?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

mulese951

mulese951 is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: 17'' Imac 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 1 GB DDR SDRAM

i am new to mac i was wondering what programs i need to keep it up and running at tip top speed. i know on windows you need anitvirus, u need to defrag every month and a whole bunch of other stuff but what do i need one here. I am running mac os x version 10.5.1 if that helps at all thanks in advance
QUOTE Thanks
Kash

Kash has a brilliant futureKash has a brilliant futureKash has a brilliant futureKash has a brilliant futureKash has a brilliant futureKash has a brilliant futureKash has a brilliant futureKash has a brilliant futureKash has a brilliant futureKash has a brilliant futureKash has a brilliant future
Mac Specs: Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G

To be honest, you don't really need anything. You don't need antivirus since there are no Mac viruses. You don't need a defrag program since OS X does it automatically. And you don't need spyware/adware scanning apps because again, you don't get those on the Mac. And OS X doesn't suffer the same performance decrease over time that Windows does.