New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

2 things I need addressed

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

MUMacUser

MUMacUser is on a distinguished road

Hey everyone.
I am a new student at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio. As part of my graphic design major, I was obligated to purchace a Macintosh G4 Powerbook. Needless to say, I love it.
I have some things I need brought to my attention, though. On the PC, I knew how to do all the maintenance things (Cookes, defragmenting, etc)..But I am clueless how to do this on the Mac
I have download 'Cocktail'... But I am just wondering which are the most important tasks that I need to run out of this program... and are there any that I SHOULDN'T run.

Also, a more advanced question...
There are some Windows programs that I absolutely need here at school, and the only way I would be able to run them is if I get Virtual PC and then install Windows XP Pro. on my system (G4 1.33 GHz powerbook 512 ram)
Does anyone have any experience with Virtual PC, and know how much of the hard drive to devote to it so that it optimally runs? (I am also considering buying an external 80 gig HD, so if that plays in somewhere, please include it.. i.e. installing Windows on the external HS)

Sorry for the lengthy message and thanks in advance
-Kevin
QUOTE Thanks
witeshark