New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Why does everyone say Windows is unstable?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

cfusionpm

cfusionpm is on a distinguished road

I've been running Windows XP for over 5 years now. I leave my computer running 24 hours a day, every day, often for weeks at a time. The only time I ever really need to have it off is if some install or update requires a restart. I have never seen a Blue Screen of Death, nor have I had any issues with viruses or spyware. There's also virtually no system slowdown over time, unless I've done something like keep a browser window open for a week and its got that entire history and temp files in the cache. Close the window, and its all gone. What's the deal? Why does everyone say its so unstable? It's been nothing but solid as a rock for me for 5 years.
QUOTE Thanks
smartyMAC

smartyMAC will become famous soon enough
Mac Specs: MB White 160GB, 2GB RAM,

Windows is not unstable.... it's much more vulnerable than Linux or MAC. There are justified reasons for it being the target. Also it's agreed that you can make windows more secure. But the point of difference is the level of security out of box. It's much less in XP. Yet to find out about vista. But so far not impressed.