New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

will a combo drive suffice?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

daughter_anna

my first year of college starts in just a couple of weeks. (i'm so nervous but excited out of my mind at the same time) anyway, i am majoring in computer graphics and before school stars, i am planning on purchasing a new powerbook. preferrably the 15inch superdrive.

but since money is a big issue in this purchase, i was wondering if cutting down to the combodrive instead of the superdrive would be a smart choice. since i'm majoring in computer graphics, will a combodrive suffice? what are the major assetts that a superdrive possesses that a combodrive doesn't? i guess i am willing to put a little more money into getting the superdrive (but that will take me forever), but will it be worth the backlit keyboard? and if i do get the combodrive and save a little more money in the future, could i have my keyboard upgraded into a backlit?

could i buy the combodrive and save a little money and call it a smart choice? basically, i just want to hear someone say that if money is a very big issue, the combodrive is still a good choice. *sigh* decisions decisions. HELP!
QUOTE Thanks
technologist