Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Switcher Hangout (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/)
-   -   Frustrated (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/79591-frustrated.html)

MrsRed 10-06-2007 07:15 PM

Frustrated
 
I am so frustrated with my imac that I have had for less then 6 months. All of a sudden I cannot get anything to load on either Firefox or Safari. It takes longer then windows use to. Is there something that i can do to fix this problem ??

I have repaired disk from my DVD that came with my imac Have repaired permissions Have done everything that I can find to do for this problem to no avail. I am ready to make this beautiful machine into a door stopper .:Grimmace:

It was so fast & so nice when I first got it .

Please tell me whatelse I can do

Thanks

Cherokee 10-06-2007 07:36 PM

Is it just the internet that is slow?

Have you tried OnyX?

MrsRed 10-06-2007 07:40 PM

No my internet is fine on I am on dsl . It will not load pages without clicking on a link like 3 or 4 times. It will just say at the top that it is loading.
Firefox will say that it can't find the page so you hit retry & then it will finally come up.

Cherokee 10-06-2007 07:57 PM

Sorry, is the whole computer slow or is it just your web browser?

Do you have OnyX? If not, you should get it. Here is a link.

http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/20070

Quote:

OnyX allows you to run misc tasks of system maintenance, to configure certain hidden parameters of the Finder, Dock, Safari, Dashboard, Expose, Disk Utility... to delete cache, to remove a certain number of files and folders that may become cumbersome, to see the detailed info of your configuration, to preview the different logs and CrashReporter reports, and more.

MrsRed 10-06-2007 08:02 PM

I run main menu all the time. I clear out the cache & do all the mantiance Stuff. Is there anything else that I can do ?? I am thinking that I might have wipe my hard drive clean & start over again. I have already done a archive but that didn't help at all.

Is the cache the same as temp files ?? Is there a way to clean out temp files ??

I just tried on Safari & Firefox to go to one of my bookmarks & after having to click on it 4 times it finally came up

Thanks for any advice on this

dtravis7 10-06-2007 08:09 PM

How are you connected to your DSL? A router? Wired? Do you have any other computers on the same network connection? Do they go slow on the web and not connect like your Mac?

Cherokee 10-06-2007 08:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrsRed (Post 499311)
Is the cache the same as temp files ?? Is there a way to clean out temp files ??

If you are using Safari, go to:

Safari > Reset Safari > Reset

MrsRed 10-06-2007 08:17 PM

I am on a router with another computer & the other one is working just fine.

I just reset Safari will see how that goes.

Is Oxy any better then Main menu ??

dtravis7 10-06-2007 08:31 PM

Is the other system that works fine a PC with XP? Are both hooked to the router WIRED or Wireless?

MrsRed 10-06-2007 08:44 PM

The other is a pc XP
Router

dtravis7 10-06-2007 08:53 PM

So you have a Wired connection from the XP system and the iMac to your router hooked to a DSL modem. Are you running the latest version of OSX which would be 10.4.10? Trying to figure just what is causing your issue.

MrsRed 10-06-2007 08:57 PM

Yep have 10.4.10

It is just getting to the point that I just want to take a hammer to it. I was trying to do a search on google & nothing would even come up just the the loading thing going around & around in the tab. ( not the beach ball)

Do you think that I should do a reformat ??

MrsRed 10-06-2007 08:58 PM

Forgot to tell you that the reset on Safari didn't help at all

mac57 10-06-2007 09:10 PM

MrsRed, this sounds like an issue I experience from time to time. As odd as it may sound, the answer in my case, after the usual OnyX and other Mac maintenance has been to turn off my DSL modem AND the router, let them sit alone for about 10 minutes and then turn them back on again. Basically, reset the DSL modem and router. If you are like most of us, those boxes are just always on, week after week after week. Now and then, a hard reset of these boxes really speeds things up.

I would recommend that you try this as well.

I would also recommend the usual stuff, like making sure you have cleaned out your browser's history and cache and cookies. All of this will slow down a browser as well, but I am assuming you have done that already.

Give the DSL Modem and Router reset a try. It has solved a slow web performance issue for me more than once.

mac57 10-06-2007 09:13 PM

MrsRed, one other thing. When your Mac is not otherwise doing anything, please pull up Activity Monitor (in your Utilities folder) and observe what the resting level of your CPU activity is at. It should be somewhere between 0% and 5% at the most. If it is more than that, use the process listing of Activity Monitor to determine what process is responsible for the extra CPU percentage. If you do find such a process, or more than one, please report them back here.

...and PLEASE tell me that you do not have ANY Norton product loaded on your Mac. They cause SO many problems that if you do, I would recommend uninstalling immediately.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.