New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Windows user thinking of making a MacBook switch

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

dannyj

dannyj is on a distinguished road

Hello all. I'm new to this forum. I'm a VERY long time windows user. By trade I'm a web developer/designer. I'm one of those that actually make a good living at it! I use Adobe CS3 web premium extensively which includes Photoshop and DreamWeaver among other dev programs. They are power hungry. I recently talked to some fellow web developers who use MacBook Pros. I've always been curious about Macs and decided my next notebook will be a Mac. Right now I have a 17" wide screen pc and I like the viewing real estate.

I think that I probably need a MacBook Pro. My question is do I? Also should I get a 15" or 17" screen? I've never worked on a wide screen 15". Any suggestions would be great. Thanks.
QUOTE Thanks
Cherokee

Cherokee is a jewel in the roughCherokee is a jewel in the rough

Hello and welcome to the forums!

The MacBook Pro would be great. The 15" model would be my choice. The 17" is nice in the viewing department, but it's borderline to big to carry around. It's more of a desktop replacement.