Specs:
    13 inch Macbook Pro Retina, 2.7ghz, 128gb SSD
    Office 2008 student and teacher edition
    I was going to buy office 2008 student and teacher edition, but just wanted to ask, if i was going to buy it from a website like amazon, how would i prove that i am a student? do i need to send them ID or do they not ask?

what amazon says....
    I don't think there is any 'check' as such. I am planning to buy office 08 whenever it comes out for an imac. This is what amazon says:

Eligibility
    *IMPORTANT NOTE:You can only purchase this product if you are a qualifying student, parent, guardian or teacher as described below. Please note that all software is for the educational use of the qualifying user and is not for any commercial use. Usage rights end as soon as the qualifying user ceases to be eligible through graduation or change of educational status.

Eligibility for student licence Students: Full or part-time student aged five or over enrolled on a course that will deliver an academic qualification publicly recognised by the Department for Education & Skills (DfES) or the Irish Department of Education (DOE)

I do actually qualify, but have not actually tried purchasing yet. i am not sure what the difference between this an expensive version is either i am afraid.
    Edit: by the way, I live in the UK.

Specs:
    ibook g4, imac 2ghz c2d, mbp 2.4ghz c2d - 10.5.1
    When i bought my mbp as a student (which i am) i sent him my GCSE results which i got last yr.

Specs:
    24-inch iMac, 2.8GHz Intel Core 2 Extreme, 1 TB HD, 4 GB RAM
    Quote Originally Posted by gribble View Post
    i am not sure what the difference between this an expensive version is either i am afraid.
    I think the only difference is that the educational versions can not be upgraded. I'm not sure this applies to every software package, but I know it applies to most, if not all.

Specs:
    24-inch iMac, 2.8GHz Intel Core 2 Extreme, 1 TB HD, 4 GB RAM