Thread: Mac newbie..

Mac newbie..
    Hallo everybody!

Its Mehul here from Mumbai, India. This is my first post here so maybe my talks will be a little amateurish since i am completely new to the Mac world. just help me out in dat case!

Am currently a student & have been using windows for the past decade almost. Windows as is, the most commonly used OS in my country for a majority of purposes. Be it basic networking, or corporate work to banking or engineering, windows tops the list! People who use Mac include professionals who are into high end graphic work, movies etc which only happen to be a sizeable lot! Now, a phase has come wherein am looking forward to upgrade to a 'better' computer n thats why there are a few queries which i want you to answer as Mac happens to be my top n well only choice since m not keen on upgrading to Vista..Pl help me clear my doubts regd it. Here goes..

1. When i first opened the internet on the Mac, the safari browser couldnt be maximised as like in windows where we can open a program full screen..I suppose Mozilla firefox is available on Mac as an extra application. Can we make it full screen, or even safari for that matter??

2.OH I NEED THS BADLY. Is there any book(for Mac newbies) or video tutorials coz i am a totally new Mac buff & very keen n eager to learn more about it..& apply it to good use.

3. My daily work, well uptil now atleast on windows includes net browsing, transfering files, pic editing on ACDSEE PRO, trying out shareware programs for my cell phone etc etc..When i ll shift to a Mac, certainly some programs n files wont open coz of a platform compatibility issue..Is there a proper & viable solution wherein I can run Windows as well as Mac simultaneously on the Mac??

4.Lastly, should i wait & get the new Mac or wait till OSX leopards out?? i mean will there be any major differences between this product & the one with leopard n which one will be worth the moolah??

Your inputs will be highly appreciated.