New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

download woes.....

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

a1dadio

a1dadio is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: mac book pro - 17, 2.33Ghz, 2 GB RAM : iPhone 8g

Kinda a newbie here. Switched March of this year and love it!!!! The last couple of months I've run into a bit of strange problem. It seems that certain files won't download. The browser seems to be trying, almost like it can't connect (Transferring data from xxxxx.xxx), but nothing...doesn't even time out. If I open another tab and go to a different site, other files download just fine. It is NOT the browser as I have tried both Safari and Firefox. The file types do NOT seem to be it either as some do and some don't.

Was in the Apple Store today and mentioned it one their guys and he had no clue...in fact he suggested I re-install. He must have been a Dell support tech before this .

I have tried running the various "clean up" utils and that seems to make no difference. These problems can be with video (wmv), downloads from Apple, updates to widgets, just doesn't seem to matter...dmg, zip, etc are all effected.

Other than that, this beast rocks the house!! Am learning all kinds of fun stuff, and probably suffering through some pain from ignorance, but I don't know any better so...

Any suggestions?