New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Music folder/iTunes help please!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

thomasr

thomasr is on a distinguished road

Okay, not sure if I can post this here, but I'm a newbie with Macs, so here is my problem:

I transferred music to my Mac, put it in the Music folder. I've been playing songs through iTunes and everything has been working fine up until tonight. I added some new songs to my Music folder, and all of a sudden some of the songs were moving around to other folders, or maybe duplicating. Duplicates of songs were showing up in my iTunes and no matter how many times I tried to delete them they kept coming back. I also tried deleting them directly from the Music folder and they keep coming back. Then I went to delete my entire iTunes Library and everything was moved to the trash. When I went to put everything back into the Music folder, only half of my songs showed up, and now the other half are missing!

This is really frustrating. I'm just trying to find a way to rename folders and songs, both in my Music folder and in my iTunes, without things switching around on me. Is there some synching problem between the two? I am lost. Help anyone??
QUOTE Thanks
technologist