New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

kernel attacks?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

otjatt

otjatt is on a distinguished road

I am pretty new to mac, and have finally experienced my first set of Kernel attacks! I had gotten one a week ago, and had just got two consecutive ones about 20 minutes ago....and for some reason they all happened when i was connected to the wireless network at my university.....my question is that if this is something i should really be worried about and contact apple about....because i think i read somewhere on this forum that it could be caused by certain hardware such as a faulty network card?

15" MBP 2.16GHz C2D 2GB RAM 120GB--30GB iPod--8GB Nano--Canon Rebel XT w/ Canon 17-85mm USM IS, 50mm f/1.8--Canon SD870 IS
QUOTE Thanks
mcnees287

mcnees287 is an unknown at this point

You where attacked by giant kernals of popcorn?
QUOTE Thanks
Sandwichman

Sandwichman will become famous soon enough
Mac Specs: iMac 17" Intel Core Duo, 2 GB RAM + 20" ACD

I believe you mean kernel panics. I, personally, do not know if they could be a sign of hardware failure.

Sitting, waiting, wishing...
QUOTE Thanks
walkerj

walkerj is just really nicewalkerj is just really nicewalkerj is just really nicewalkerj is just really nice