New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

how to format drives on mac?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

otjatt

otjatt is on a distinguished road

Hi,
I am relatively new to the mac world...and am still getting used to the OS.
I am trying to figure out how to simply format a connected drive, such as a usb flash drive or my ipod when it is connect to my mbp. I am used to just having that option available by right clicking it in windows but have no clue how to do it in mac os x. Anyone know how this is done?

Thanks
QUOTE Thanks
ambivalent

ambivalent is just really niceambivalent is just really niceambivalent is just really niceambivalent is just really nice
Mac Specs: Macbook Pro - iPhone

heeyyy i forgot that i really wanted to know this.

with an ipod you can 'reset' it in itunes, same thing.
but i would like to know how to with a usb flash drive, after many uses when you 'delete' everything it still has invisible files, or something. says it has no space.

She figured out that the only way to keep from being frozen was to stay in motion,
and long ago converted most of her flesh into liquid.
Now when she smells danger, she spills herself all over, like gasoline, and lights it.
QUOTE Thanks
smurfy

smurfy can only hope to improve