New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Virtual PC question

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Quintheeskimo66

I'm pretty new to the Mac scene. I have a pair of G3 powerbooks. one 500mhz and the other 266. The 266 is running 9.2.2 and the 500 is running 10.3
I have 1 windoze program that I would like to run on my powerbook(s). It is some mapping software for my GPS.
I've heard about Virtual PC, and I have some questions I am hoping to find some answers too. I did some searching of the forums, and everyone here seems to know more about it than I do.
Does this replace your Mac OS? Does it run all the time? Or is it an application that you can start and stop to allow you to simulate the Windoze environment for running a program?

Thanks!
QUOTE Thanks
rman

rman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud of
Mac Specs: 2 x 3.0GHz Quad-Core, 6GB OS X 10.6.8 | 15in MacBook Pro 2.2GHz OS X 10.6.8 | 64GB iPad 2 WiFi

Virtual PC is an application which emulates the PC environment. In this environment you can run windows applications.