New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

total noob questions re: iPhone & Leopard

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

charonzen

charonzen is on a distinguished road

I'm such a noob I don't even own anything Apple, much less technologies that haven't come out yet! Here's the deal: I'm going back to school in the fall, and I have my heart set on getting a Powerbook Pro (Probook? Whatever- the really nice new ones The first question: does anyone know Apple's policies per upgrading? I would have to get my laptop in August but obviously Leopard won't be out then. Or is there a confirmed discount for upgrading? Or should I just wait until Leopard comes out?

And of course (to me) the big one: I am going to get an iPhone ASAP. My phone's about to die anyway, and even though I'm not an early adopter in general, what the heck. But I just want to get the story straight on syncing. Is the current .mac account system supposed to ensure complete syncing and backups between the iPhone and any version of X, or is there still a need for a cord sync?