View Poll Results:

Voters
0. You may not vote on this poll
  • 0 0%

Question CS3 in Windows... Mac Book Pro vs Alienware
    Hey there!

I've had an Alienware m7700 for a little over 2 years. On the plus side, it's been superfast, handled games like a charm, handled all my graphics and Flash stuff (I'm a web designer), and generally performed extremely well for the first year. On the negative side, it's huge, very heavy, had stability issues from the get-go, and most importantly has become increasingly unstable in the last year, with USB problems, video problems, and speed issues.

At this point, I kind of feel like an idiot buying Alienware again, but ALL my money has been spent on Windows software -- the full CS3 suite, all my fonts, etc. I simply can't afford to buy a new Mac PLUS all the software that I currently use all over again. I still lean toward Alienware because when it was running well, my laptop outpaced pretty much everyone else's PCs, including desktops, and judging from the forums, it kind of sounds like the laptop I got was a lemon and most people have had better experiences.

My question is twofold: first of all, for all you switchers out there still running Windows on your Mac Book Pro, how has it performed? Specifically, in my business I'm using Photoshop, Illustrator, Flash, and Dreamweaver all the time, often with all of them running at the same time. Is the performance on the Mac (running Windows) better or worse than running on a standard PC?

My second question is: assuming I need to run CS3 in Windows, which of the following systems would be better?

MAC:
    MacBook Pro
    2.33GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    3GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 1x2GB, 1x1GB
    160GB Serial ATA Drive @ 5400 rpm
    SuperDrive 8x (DVD+R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
    MacBook Pro 17-inch Glossy Widescreen Display
    Backlit Keyboard/Mac OS - U.S. English
    Accessory Kit
    AppleCare Protection Plan for MacBook Pro/PowerBook (w/or w/o Display) - Auto-enroll

PC:
    Aurora™ m9700