New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Restoring lost folder!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

JohnXE

I am new to Mac, and today, my power cut off, when I turned the Mac back on everything seemed fine. When I went to get a file someone asked for online and was going to the folder, which is located on desktop..it was gone! It wasn't even in the Trash!

I have no idea how to restore his the correct way and this was the most important folder on my computer! Any suggestions?
QUOTE Thanks
StarManta

Well it depends on how it was deleted... if it's not in the trash, it's probably more or less gone :/
QUOTE Thanks
JohnXE

That doesn't make sense though...there has to be a way of getting it back
QUOTE Thanks
witeshark

witeshark will become famous soon enough
Mac Specs: G4 1Ghz OS X 10.4.7

My guess is to try this: Finder - Applications - Utilities - Terminal. type ls /tmp and see if the file name comes up it may be possible ti drag it back to the Applications or desktop
QUOTE Thanks
copitl

copitl is on a distinguished road

Hi!
I'm too worried because the same has happened to me!!
My most important folder who was in my desktop too, just dissapeared!!!!
I cannot find it anywhere on my mac
I could recover some of the files because 2 days ago I opened 3 of my files.doc who were in this folder so I saved it again.