New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Couple of External Hardware Questions

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Peakoverload

Peakoverload has a spectacular aura about
Mac Specs: 27" iMac 3.1Ghz 16GB RAM, 1TB HD. iPhone 4.

Okay, I'm a total newbie. Used PC's for more years than I care to remember and know them back to front but have never used a Mac before and have just ordered my first, a 20" Intel iMac. It hasn't even arrived yet, might be tomorrow!!!, but I have a couple of questions regarding external hardware I hope someone here can answer.

External Back up Drive.

I already have a 250GB USB 2 drive that I use as my backup drive for both my desktop PC and Laptop PC. The desktop is going in the bin but I'll still be keeping and using the PC Laptop. Primarily the backup drive will be for the iMac but as I need to also use it with the laptop how should I format this drive? If I use NTFS the iMac can't write to it, if I use FAT32 it's a little unsecure for a backup drive, if I use HFS or HFS+ the PC can't read it without 3rd party software.

So is FAT32 okay or would it be best to use HFS+ and then use something like MacDrive on my laptop?

External DVD Burner.