Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Switcher Hangout (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/)
-   -   64 bit on Macs (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/51721-64-bit-macs.html)

DrQuincy 01-26-2007 08:41 AM

64 bit on Macs
 
Can someone please exaplin to me in lamens terms 64 bit computing on a Mac?

What 64 bit options are there for Mac users (I noticed todat the Mac Pros have dual 64 bit Xeons)? How do Tiger and Leopard differ when it come to 64 bit? What kind of performance difference is there between 32 and 64? Do all application support 64 bit? Will all chips be 64 bit eventually?

Sorry if these are stupid questions . . .

yogi 01-26-2007 08:52 AM

64-bit, as opposed to 32-bit in computing, means that that much data can be processed at once by the processor, so that's been double. In order to harness this capability, programs have to take advantage of these larger chunks of data that can be used, so unless a program was written 64-bit from the ground-up, it cannot take advantage of 32-bit.

In Tiger, 64bit is not supported yet. In Leopard, it is, and according to Apple, 32-bit applications and 64-bit applications will run side by side flawlessly.

Many of the benefits in 64-bit coding are that programs become easier to handle and smaller in size, the performance goes up considerably (I don't have numbers) at least by a noticeable level, especially when processing a video, or converting songs in iTunes etc.
64-bit seems to be the new bitsize all chipmakers are aiming for now.

Hope that helps a bit.

DrQuincy 01-26-2007 09:38 AM

Thanks! So once Leopard is out will there be apps that will run to the max on both? Can developers make universal apps like this or will there have to be two versions of each?

mac57 01-26-2007 09:42 AM

The general scuttle however is that device drivers will be trouble. I hope that Leopard does as it advertizes. We will need to be able to use 32 bit drivers for some time to come. Meantime, if an upgrade to Leopard suddenly makes my 64 bit G5 go faster, I am all for that!!

Benjamindaines 01-26-2007 11:41 AM

Just to throw this at you... the Mac Pro can run with 256 bit addressing, just make sure you buy memory in quad pairs (4x512 = 2GB, 4x1 = 4GB, 4x2 = 8GB, etc).

DigitalJesus 01-26-2007 11:48 AM

When in doubt... WIKI !!!!!!

Ninjab3ar 01-26-2007 04:41 PM

Since Core 2 Duo processors are 64 bit, every Mac except for the Mac Mini will support 64 bit.

DrQuincy 01-26-2007 06:14 PM

Are Core 2s 64bit and Core Duos aren't?

12991 01-26-2007 07:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DrQuincy (Post 314158)
Are Core 2s 64bit and Core Duos aren't?

Yea... Cds are 32bit and c2d is 64bit

Ninjab3ar 01-26-2007 11:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DrQuincy (Post 314158)
Are Core 2s 64bit and Core Duos aren't?

yup, core duo is 32 bit, and core 2 duo is 64 bit.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.