New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

MacBook Pro - Macbook or Macbook Pro

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

HKphotographer

HKphotographer is on a distinguished road

I'm a student who's going to study overseas. Portability is important so I decided to buy a notebook.
I'm going to concentrate on studies and work so I chose to buy an Apple notebook because the operating system is more stable and secure.

Although I do not care about games I am a serious amateur photographer. I also work frequently with graphics. Therefore my computer must run photoshop and aperture at a great speed to process large-sized images.

The main difference between the Macbook and Macbook Pro I'm looking at is that Macbook Pro has a larger monitor for photo editing and a better graphics card. What I want to know is that does the better graphics card do any good when running photoshop.

My present computer runs photoshop very smoothly. As reference, the configuration is: P4 3.2ghz, 1GB RAM, radeon9800pro and Windows XP
QUOTE Thanks
???

??? is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: MBP 2.0Ghz

The ATI card in the MBP are great, the MBP will be better than the MB but it depends on how big the files are. The MB card is ok, but if you are serious and can afford it get the pro. Either way buy as much ram as you can afford.
QUOTE Thanks