New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Hidden files destroys 20G

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Ephilei

Ephilei is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: MacBook

I'm new to OSX, but I'm not dumb, though it may sound so. I was playing around at the terminal wanting to see how OSX deals with hidden files. So here's how I screwed up 20 gigs in one line:

gala:/users/Ephilei Ephilei$ touch .new
gala:/users/Ephilei Ephilei$ ls
Alien Books Desktop Documents Library

Notice the music, pictures, movies, and sites folders are now mysteriously gone. WTF! The aliases are broken, Spotlight is clueless, and Finder tells me I have 20 more gigs free than 5 minutes ago. I can only guess this has something to do with the fact that all those folder appear alphabetically after ".new".

Now I'm scared to touch anything for fear I'll lose my chance to recover those files. Please help!
QUOTE Thanks
trpnmonkey41

trpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to beholdtrpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to beholdtrpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to beholdtrpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to beholdtrpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to beholdtrpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to beholdtrpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to beholdtrpnmonkey41 is a splendid one to behold
Mac Specs: 20" iMac C2D 2.16ghz, 13" MacBook 2.0ghz, 60gb iPod vid, 1gb nano