Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Switcher Hangout (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/)
-   -   Yahoo Problems? Help with Adium? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/43602-yahoo-problems-help-adium.html)

jparker0201 10-19-2006 12:04 AM

Yahoo Problems? Help with Adium?
 
Alright guys. Two quick questions for you.
Has anyone experience problems with the new Yahoo Messenger Beta 3.0 for Mac? Evvverytime I launch it from the dock it takes forever, and I mean forever to load. Am I the only one experiencing this or are there others?

I tried using Adium for a few days but didn't like the fact that it wasn't able to get my contact details for all my friends and I was going to have to manually put them into the built in address book. I do not know my friends by their screen names alone. Is there anyone to import the contact details or am I just SOL?

Thanks everyone.

jdgti 10-19-2006 05:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jparker0201
Alright guys. Two quick questions for you.
Has anyone experience problems with the new Yahoo Messenger Beta 3.0 for Mac? Evvverytime I launch it from the dock it takes forever, and I mean forever to load. Am I the only one experiencing this or are there others?

I tried using Adium for a few days but didn't like the fact that it wasn't able to get my contact details for all my friends and I was going to have to manually put them into the built in address book. I do not know my friends by their screen names alone. Is there anyone to import the contact details or am I just SOL?

Thanks everyone.

Have you tried opening up yahoo messenger and then exporting your buddylist and then opening up adium and importing them using the exported list?

What file extension is the exported list from yahoo?

I believe adium is set to read from the server for all buddy lists, which would mean it would be able to get all of their information like you want. Have you tried deleting the program and then application support folder and then redownloading adium and starting from scratch?

PapaNoHair 10-19-2006 06:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jparker0201
I tried using Adium for a few days but didn't like the fact that it wasn't able to get my contact details for all my friends and I was going to have to manually put them into the built in address book. Is there anyone to import the contact details or am I just SOL? Thanks everyone.

All my contacts were automatically imported for me - I did not have to do anything.

JTmac 10-19-2006 07:12 AM

I had the same problem with Yahoo...... Ditched it.

jparker0201 10-19-2006 08:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PapaNoHair
All my contacts were automatically imported for me - I did not have to do anything.

Hm...Maybe I just wasn't giving it enough time. I played around with it for a good 30 minutes though...And when I say "contacts imported" I don't mean their screen names but the name that I had put in on Yahoo for them to show up as...

Ex: jparker0201 then I'd put it in to show up as John.

BIG D 04 10-19-2006 08:59 AM

I have a similar Problem MSN Messenger for Mac...terrible :(

I also didn't like using Adium as it would always send me the friends Request I recieved or inform me about Offline Messages but they may be the fault of MSN.

I just have to check a Windows XP PC with Windows Live Messenger it's a pain in the ***.

jdgti 10-19-2006 03:48 PM

try this in adium. preferences->advanced->adress book and then uncheck all the stuff that says from address book so that maybe MSN will read from the server.

Let us know.

kman445 10-19-2006 07:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BIG D 04
I have a similar Problem MSN Messenger for Mac...terrible :(

I also didn't like using Adium as it would always send me the friends Request I recieved or inform me about Offline Messages but they may be the fault of MSN.

I just have to check a Windows XP PC with Windows Live Messenger it's a pain in the ***.


all my stuff was imported in adium for MSN, but i couldnt stand the program, so i got rid of it


For msn i use "Mercury Messenger" i like this program alot, and it runs nicly. shows what yourlistning to, and you can draw, send nudges, and everything else you can on windows live messenger

I hope this is usefull

mraya 10-19-2006 07:59 PM

About a month ago (maybe less, maybe more), Yahoo! started to offer compatibility with MSN Messenger and a new updated version for Windows, since then Yahoo! has had a lot of problems. I don't think is just you or the Mac version but Yahoo! itself.

geminifiend 10-19-2006 08:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jparker0201
Hm...Maybe I just wasn't giving it enough time. I played around with it for a good 30 minutes though...And when I say "contacts imported" I don't mean their screen names but the name that I had put in on Yahoo for them to show up as...

Ex: jparker0201 then I'd put it in to show up as John.


Using Adium, you have to manually write their Alias as you've written in your example in the contact info. And everything you want to do will be in the preferences. Moreover, there's a Yahoo! Beta for Mac if you want to try it out, you can view your contact's webcam. By the way, I agree with mraya, MSN messenger, gmail, jabber etc... etc... has no problem with any third party messengers only Yahoo! :black:

sursuciofla 10-19-2006 08:40 PM

All my contacts names came up when I first used it. Granted I hardly use but all the names were there (The real life names I put in using my windows messenger version). Don't know why yours did not.

BIG D 04 10-19-2006 10:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kman445
all my stuff was imported in adium for MSN, but i couldnt stand the program, so i got rid of it


For msn i use "Mercury Messenger" i like this program alot, and it runs nicly. shows what yourlistning to, and you can draw, send nudges, and everything else you can on windows live messenger

I hope this is usefull

Cheers for the Link.

I'll give it ago and see how good it is.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.