Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    dacomputernerd
    Maximum battery power...
    Hey guys, im brand new to macs. I have done some fixing/IT work on an old G4 Imac at work, and i've built 10+ PCs and maintain them on a weekly basis for my work. (just to give you an idea about my general knowledge)

I am looking to purchase a Macbook Pro 15" 2Ghz (1gig ram), as an upgrade to my HP 850Mhz laptop that i am currently using (SLOW as heck). Ill be running bootcamp for my pc apps yada yada yada, im sure you all have heard this before...

My main concern will be battery life. I am still in school and would like the battery to last 5-5.5 hours on one charge, using only microsoft word in OSX to take notes most of the time. Is it possible to get this much battery life out of the Macbook pro? Apple rates it at 4.5Hrs i believe.

I know all the standard stuff, like putting on max battery power settings, standby when not using, no cd in drive, lowest brightness level, shutoff airport/bluetooth ETC ETC ETC.

Is there anything macbook specific i can do? Yes i have read the tutorial on apple's website on how to conserve battery power, but im looking to get every last bit of battery time out of this thing.

And if 5-5.5 hrs is simply not possible, does someone make a portable external battery/charger for the Macbook pro? Maybe like a small 12V battery with an inverter built in (it would only have to be 85W).

Thanks in advanced for all your help,
    Kelvyn

Maximum battery power...
    Specs:
    iMac 20" C2D, 2 Gig.
    calibrate your battery.

Maximum battery power...

Is there anyway i can prevent my mac from going into sleep when i drain the battery all the way down?

Quote Originally Posted by Kulokoy
    calibrate your battery.

Maximum battery power...

Specs:
    20" iMac C2D 2.16ghz, 13" MacBook 2.0ghz, 60gb iPod vid, 1gb nano
    Quote Originally Posted by climbguy
    Is there anyway i can prevent my mac from going into sleep when i drain the battery all the way down?