Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Switcher Hangout (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/)
-   -   2 monitors (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/34465-2-monitors.html)

ThaXStank 05-10-2006 01:58 AM

2 monitors
 
i couldn't find any pure info on this is it possible to run dual 20 inch monitors on my powermac it's a new dual core 2.0 with a pci-xpress 6600le 128mb.
just double checking my self to make sure i'm right

deus_ex_machina 05-10-2006 02:04 AM

Unless you are doing any extreme video editing or high-end 3D animation this card should be more than fine for dual monitors. You have more than enough RAM :) The card in dual core should run dual 30" if I'm not mistaken (any other forum members, feel free to correct me if I'm wrong)

Aptmunich 05-10-2006 05:23 AM

Agreed: The Powermacs were built to be able to do this...
Obviously you'd get better performance by dedicating a card to each monitor, but if you're not planning on doing anything too extreme, you'll be alright.

Plus you can always add a card later if you feel you need the extra performance.

coach_z 05-10-2006 10:02 AM

i have two 17" monitors and they perform beautifully

PowerBookG4 05-10-2006 10:55 PM

how much performance is taking away if you have 2, 23 inch cinema displays.. will it drastically slow down my render times.. etc.

deus_ex_machina 05-10-2006 10:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PowerBookG4
how much performance is taking away if you have 2, 23 inch cinema displays.. will it drastically slow down my render times.. etc.

It takes performance from the video card, your rendering by the CPU shouldn't be affected. It just eats up video RAM.

PowerBookG4 05-11-2006 07:10 AM

ok cool, thank you very much. I am no longer worried about putting my second display on my quad when it comes.

buckie06 05-11-2006 07:15 PM

Can I plug in an extra monitor into a powerbook and run duel screens?

coach_z 05-11-2006 08:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by buckie06
Can I plug in an extra monitor into a powerbook and run duel screens?

you should create your own thread for this question next time or use the search function, all you need to do is plug your monitor into the back/side of your powerbook and then go into your system preferences and configure everything the way yoou want it


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.