Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Switcher Hangout (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/)
-   -   Configuring! (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/34042-configuring.html)

caveatipss 04-30-2006 05:09 PM

Configuring!
 
I found a way to buy an iMac immediately, so I am configuring now! Very exciting. The only problem is that I want the best of all the specs lol. I guess I could live without a 500 MB internal hdd, but I definitely need the top video card. As for RAM: is it relatively easy to add RAM to the iMac? I could start with a gig, then double it later. Any thoughts? I definitely want the 20" monitor.

hondagus87 04-30-2006 05:17 PM

maybe go with something bigger than "500MB" hard drive

caveatipss 04-30-2006 05:40 PM

hahaha GB I meant of course. lol I think my PC in 1992 had 500 MB.

xstep 04-30-2006 05:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by caveatipss
I definitely need the top video card

The only video option I see on the Apple site is bumping the standard 128MB to 256MB on the 20 inch iMac. Remember that graphics cards are built into the machine, so you can't upgrade later.

I'm not sure how easy it is to add ram, but I'd still just buy the stock 512MB and add another GIG stick. You can diffinately beat Apples pricing. By doing it this way you gain 512MB for less money.

caveatipss 04-30-2006 05:47 PM

Ok. I want the 256 video card because I am an avid gamer, and also do some graphic design and website design. I ultimately want 200 GB of RAM, so if I get 512, I will have to buy the full 2 GB to upgrade since the iMac only has two slots.

caveatipss 04-30-2006 05:54 PM

Here it is so far:

Specifications
Image

* 512MB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 1x512
* 250GB Serial ATA drive
* ATI Radeon X1600/256MB VRAM
* SuperDrive 8x (DVD+R DL/DVD+RW/CD-RW)
* iWork '06 preinstalled
* Wireless Keyboard & Mouse + Mac OS X - U.S. English
* Accessory kit
* 20-inch widescreen LCD
* 2GHz Intel Core Duo
* AirPort Extreme
* Bluetooth 2.0 + EDR

macAttack 04-30-2006 06:42 PM

more ram

Kyomii 04-30-2006 08:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by caveatipss
Ok. I want the 256 video card because I am an avid gamer, and also do some graphic design and website design. I ultimately want 200 GB of RAM, so if I get 512, I will have to buy the full 2 GB to upgrade since the iMac only has two slots.

200 GB Ram :D WOW! LOL

Good luck with the new machine :headphone

IronMac 04-30-2006 09:19 PM

Yeah, how about getting your hands on one of these!!!

Turbo 04-30-2006 10:17 PM

If you are going to upgrade to 2gig ram, might as well just get the 1 stick of 1gig from Apple. Might cost you a little more to get a gig this way, but you won't end up with unused ram that you may or not be able to sell.

caveatipss 04-30-2006 10:44 PM

Well, for the sake of cost, I either have to skimp on initial RAM, skimp on the hard drive, or skimp on something else :(

techster82 04-30-2006 10:47 PM

Ram install on the intel imac is childs play. It involves two screws and then just popping the sodimm in. I would NEVER buy ram from Apple as it is a huge ripoff. Add stuff like a bigger hard drive and upgrade the video. Curious, where do you live in LA? I just moved from Shreveport in January.

caveatipss 04-30-2006 10:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by techster82
Ram install on the intel imac is childs play. It involves two screws and then just popping the sodimm in. I would NEVER buy ram from Apple as it is a huge ripoff. Add stuff like a bigger hard drive and upgrade the video. Curious, where do you live in LA? I just moved from Shreveport in January.

I live in Lafayette :) So, do you have to take the iMac all apart to add RAM?

IronMac 05-01-2006 12:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by caveatipss
I live in Lafayette :) So, do you have to take the iMac all apart to add RAM?

You just stick it in the Optical Drive and it "Just Works" :baron:

techster82 05-01-2006 01:36 AM

No you do not have to dismantle anything to add ram to the new imac. At the very bottom middle of the intel imacs is a small metal door that is attached flush with two screws. You undo the screws and take the door off to reveal the 2 ram slots. One will come prefilled with 512mb, then you just pop another sodimm in and put the cover back on. Boot it up and you are ready to go in under 3 minutes.

I had some buddies that lived in Lafayette and passed through there everytime I headed to BR. Good town and I miss home.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.