Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Switcher Hangout (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/)
-   -   iMac G3 RAM (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/33578-imac-g3-ram.html)

wicker_man 04-19-2006 11:06 AM

iMac G3 RAM
 
I currently have 192mb RAM in my iMac G3 DV 400MHz.

It has the original 64mb (which will be replaced with a 512mb stick) and an additional 128mb.

However, I am having a bit of a problem trying to find compatible RAM for it. Crucial want 63 for a 512mb stick, which is quite pricey in my opinion when you can get some for around 35 from eBay. However, I have emailed quite a few sellers about compatibility but they do not know.

Would any 512mb PC100 or PC133 SDRAM stick work in my iMac, such as this Kingston KVR133X64C3/512:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...DME:L:RTQ:UK:1

Or this:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/INFINEON-1GB-S...QQcmdZViewItem

Thanks in advance.

surfwax95 04-19-2006 11:14 AM

Ramjet

I don't know if they ship to the U.K. though...

wicker_man 04-19-2006 11:35 AM

Thanks, but $109 is 62, which is not much different from Crucial (and thats without delivery).

I think I'm going to risk eBay, the seller of the Kingston ram says that if it doesn't work he will give me a refund.

My 80GB hard drive should arrive on Tuesday, so hopefully if the RAM works I should be able to install OS X on it :)

pcjabber 04-19-2006 11:54 AM

Well, if the seller will refund you if it doesn't work, go for it :) FWIW, Apple is usually pretty good about using "standard" memory in their systems, and not something strange/proprietary.

Badger 04-19-2006 11:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wicker_man
Thanks, but $109 is 62, which is not much different from Crucial (and thats without delivery).

I think I'm going to risk eBay, the seller of the Kingston ram says that if it doesn't work he will give me a refund.

My 80GB hard drive should arrive on Tuesday, so hopefully if the RAM works I should be able to install OS X on it :)

Ask the seller for the model number then check it against the manufacturer's site to see if it matches your computer specs. In the picture the Kingston module is still in its original package but the model number isn't readable.

wicker_man 04-21-2006 01:31 PM

Received the RAM today, popped it into my iMac and it works fine!

Got a 512mb and 128mb stick of PC133 RAM totalling 640mb, which should be fine for OS X.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.