New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Im sort of a switcher as of yesterday.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

iBeldar

iBeldar will become famous soon enough
Mac Specs: '08 White MB 2.1ghz - 4GB- 120GB- Superdrive - Snow Leopard

Since there is no "First Post" forum, and since im new to the Apple world, I thought I would post here. Last year, around September, I got an amazing deal. I got a 14 inch 933MHZ, 512MB, Radeon 9200 iBook for FREE. The only thing was the HD was bad, but I had an HP laptop that went bad, so I took the 40 giger out, slapped it into the iBook, and it worked. Next thing... OS. Ive been trying different versions of Linux, and last night, got Fedora 5 to work, the only one that has worked. So, basically, im new to the Apple world, with an iBook with Linux on it. Now that I have this, I don't think I have a need for my PC, so a friend is buying it, and it should give me just enough money to buy a copy of Mac OSX.

So here I am, apparently since there is no Linux forum, one of the few Linux Mac owners here. Im 15, and basically, computers are my fix. Ever since ive gotten into them, I have wanted a Mac, and I got one for nothing, just a little time and skill. I like cars alot, like music alot, and I know Music + Macs = teh buttsechs. lol anyway, here you go, my first post.
QUOTE Thanks