Specs:
    iMac Intel Core Duo 20"
    PC user buying a Mac
    Hi all...just wanted you to know that I am a PC user for over 10 years and now I am wanting to buy into a Mac. I need to know is it a good deal to buy a PowerMac G4 or is it to old? I am wanting it to run with Photoshop CS2 since I am into graphics and also will use it to process my RAW photos. I saw where the new is a G5...is it better to get a G5 or will a G4 be alright for what I am needing? Any help will be greatly appreciated since I am new to or will be new to using a Mac.

Thanks,
    Dooglla

Specs:
    iMac 17" Intel Core Duo 1.83GHz 512 MB Ram 128 vRAM 60GB HD
    Well, if you're running Photoshop CS2, go with the PowerMac. Photoshop, if loaded onto an iMac Intel, needs Rosetta-a program to run PowerPC apps on and Intel Mac-to run. And, the reports with Rosetta and CS2 are not good. Supposedly, Photoshop runs REALLY slow. So, if you want to switch to Mac, get the PowerMac for CS2.

But if you're just between G5 and G4, go G5. You'll get better speed, plus I heard somewhere that G4 chips overheat easily.
    the back of our computer looks better than the front of theirs

Quote Originally Posted by Super_boy22
    i can store many dvds on 1 floppy so it's essential to me

Specs:
    iMac Intel Core Duo 20"
    Quote Originally Posted by BlindingLights
    Well, if you're running Photoshop CS2, go with the PowerMac. Photoshop, if loaded onto an iMac Intel, needs Rosetta-a program to run PowerPC apps on and Intel Mac-to run. And, the reports with Rosetta and CS2 are not good. Supposedly, Photoshop runs REALLY slow. So, if you want to switch to Mac, get the PowerMac for CS2.

But if you're just between G5 and G4, go G5. You'll get better speed, plus I heard somewhere that G4 chips overheat easily.
    Thanks for the reply. Would this be a good buy for me to use with photoshop?

Mac 17"G5

lil