New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

File Sharing Between Users

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

rhayn

rhayn is on a distinguished road

I am still relatively new to Mac and I have run into a stumbling block. My Mac has two accounts on it. I have my picture folder shared in "Sharing" in System Preferences to both users with read/write access. Folders that have been added once the share was establish are visible as are the list of file in finder, but when the user they are shared to attempts to open them, they get an error message that says. "you do not have permission to open the document....".

What am I doing wrong with the file share? Again, existing (older) folders I am able to open the images when I am logged into the same account that is giving me problems with the new folder/files.

Thanks in advance for any help!
QUOTE Thanks
leadfoot

leadfoot is on a distinguished road