New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Full migration to OSX

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Checco

Checco has a spectacular aura about
Mac Specs: 21.5" iMac Mid-2011 ~ 15" MBP Mid-2012 ~ iPad 4 16GB ~ iPhone 5 16GB

I've been running OSX for a couple of years now, but am still quite reliant on my Windows VMs to carry out certain tasks, simply because I own Windows licenses for software packages I use.

An example is Visio - yesterday I needed to use Visio to document a process, but I didn't have that VM running. So opening Visio became quite a lot more "involved" as I had to boot an entire OS. This complication is getting to me of late for a few reasons:
  • I like working in OSX as, in my personal opinion, it's 10^9 times better than working in Windows, for many, many reasons. Don't suspect I'll get much argument here
  • If I'm running on battery on my MBP, a Windows VM munches into the battery life, as can be expected since an additional OS is running (likely far less efficient OS).
  • Booting, even loading from suspend, just creates wear and tear on my HDD. When I can, I put my Mac to sleep, but in some cases it's not possible.
  • I like OSX. Oh, did I mention that?