New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Need to Learn Advanced Use of OS X

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

toastysquirrel

toastysquirrel is on a distinguished road

I hope you guys can help me out.
I'm coming to Mac from Windows, of the latter I'd say I'm an advanced user. I've been using a MBAir for about 8 months and I've got the "every day use" down good and even some slightly advanced knowledge.

I do technical support for a company and management wants me to get my Mac skills on par with my Windows skills. I've searched Google and Amazon for books on the subject but so far I haven't found what I'm after.

Can anyone suggest any good books or online courses for becoming a power-user with Mac (Mt.Lion or Mavericks)? Advanced stuff like digging into Terminal commands for checking processes and status of the OS and apps; Rsync, generally more in depth stuff about understanding how to "really use" the Mac and diagnose stuff when it breaks with our application.

I don't care so much about learning Garage Band, or Calendar, etc. But I would like to know about sparse bundles, using PF to restrict traffic; general "under the hood" type stuff a regular user would ask a professional for.