New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Improving iMac performance

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

sdwilson83

sdwilson83 is on a distinguished road

Hi,

I've been using mac's for a few years now, but have noticed that my iMac is getting really sluggish and taking quite a long time to do tasks it previously did very quickly.

I've heard there are ways of improving performance again, i just don't know what they are!

I'm using a 2008 intel iMac, i'm running the latest OS on it and am up to date with all updates through the app store. If you can point me in the direction of where to get info on performance improvement or can make suggestions I would really appreciate it.

Many thanks.
QUOTE Thanks
Slydude

Slydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant futureSlydude has a brilliant future
Mac Specs: 2.8 GHz MacBook Pro 10.8,3 8 GB mem, 2.66 GHz Mac Pro - Dead, iPhone 4

Can you give us a bit more information about the problem. For starters:
1. How much memory is installed?
2. How much free hard drive space is there on the hard drive?