New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Learning the Lingo of Posting Here

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

lstauduhar

lstauduhar is on a distinguished road

Hi --
I'm a newbie to Macs and also to posting in a forum.

I have to use a PC at work but my own computer is a MacBook that my brother gave me. I have a lot to learn and to keep straight between PC & Mac.

Since I just joined I was advised to post a thread here to start out. I am unfamiliar with the terminology and how to set up my account here.

For example:
1) Trackbacks - it says they are multiple URLs with spaces. OK - for what? And it is asking me where I want Trackbacks sent to. I don't know.
2) In the box labeled Additional Options
A. What does it mean to "Automatically parse links in text"?
B. What does it mean to "Retrieve titles from external links"?
C. What is "Post a Poll"?
D. What is "Post a poll with this thread"?
E. What is "Number of poll options"?

So far I'm just going with what looks like the default settings.

Thanks for any help! I appreciate it already!

Leanne
QUOTE Thanks
pigoo3