Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Switcher Hangout (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/)
-   -   Password Manager Data Swap (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/295345-password-manager-data-swap.html)

Rick T 02-18-2013 08:52 PM

Password Manager Data Swap
 
After using Roboform on a PC for many years without problems, I naturally chose Roboform for Mac when I switched to my MacBook Pro. However, this version has bugs and Roboform will not respond to my requests for solving problems.

I read on this forum that 1Password seems highly recommended. Does anyone know if 1Password has a means of transferring Roboform data into its program?

Rick

chscag 02-18-2013 09:58 PM

I don't believe 1Password has an import feature to import passwords from other programs, however, I set my copy up from start so I can't say for sure. Here's the LINK to their User Guide. Why don't you look through it?

Rick T 02-19-2013 07:17 AM

I found their User Guide last evening and lo and behold, found the following in the FAQ section:

Importing Data into 1Password

1Password can import data from many popular applications, including:

AppShelf
AutoID
Data Guardian1 (formerly Password Retriever)
eWallet2
KeePass and KeePassX
LicenseKeeper
Minefield
Password Safe 3
PasswordWallet by S3
Passwords Plus3
RoboForm Passcards and Safenotes
SplashID by SplashData
TurboPasswords (formerly Cloak)
Web Confidential

Thank you for your reply.

Rick

chscag 02-19-2013 03:29 PM

I learned something new. Thanks for posting that back for others to see.

Rick T 02-20-2013 07:50 AM

Sometimes there is more to the story. I contacted 1Password to see if their answer to my question matched their User Guide information. Here is the reply I received.

I wish I could give you a more satisfying answer, but this is going to be a challenge. The first question I'd ask is how many entries do you have? If you have, say, over 100, you might be willing to go through a bit of digital gymnastics to get your Roboform data into 1Password. If it's less, then I'd suggest manually re-entering the data in 1Password.

Here's what we know.

There's no direct method to export Roboform Mac data. However, Roboform for Windows 6.9 does allow exporting of your complete passcard data. But this would require obtaining Roboform Windows 6.9 (*not* their currently shipping version of 7.8.6.5, which does not support export.) Then, you could sync to your Mac data with Roboform for Windows 6.9 and then you'd have a means to export.

I can't assure you that this will work since I have not tried it, but based on what we know, it may work.

One thing to note is that 1Password will never "lock you in" like Roboform has. You can export all of your data to a usable CSV file at any time. We believe that your data is *your* data, and you should be allowed to do with it what you want. We don't think that artificial lock-in is beneficial to our customers.

If there's anything else I can do to help you, please let me know!

Steve C. Joyner
"Ninth Inning Closer" @ AgileBits


Now I need to go back to my PC and see what version of RoboForm I have. The program has a sync feature, so everything I added on my Mac should (I have not actually checked) be on the PC also. Rarely is anything as easy as it should be.

Rick

chscag 02-20-2013 12:45 PM

It gets interesting doesn't it? Anyway, keep us posted on your progress with this as it will help others who are switching from another password manager to 1Password.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.