New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

Migration created huge hidden files

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

PeterMon

PeterMon is on a distinguished road

Hi all,

I'm new to Mac Forums, but have followed a lot of your excellent advice through the buying and setting up my first MAC (iMac 27"). Migration from a PC was really flawed and frustrating and I'm still sorting basic problems three weeks in... Please may I ask ask advice on how I find and delete hidden music and photo files... I copied 8GB of M4a music files to the iMac but on storage on "About this Mac" says I have over 90GB of "Music"! Similarly I have 46GB of photos from the P.C. which have turned into a massive 230GB of "Pictures". Yet under the directories I have one set of each lot of files... Please can you help me to move forward?

Further with no additional programmes on the Mac, "Other" in storage shows over 50GB of space used. Is that normal?

Thanks for any help you can give!
QUOTE Thanks
chscag