Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Switcher Hangout (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/)
-   -   Parallels Migration License Questions (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/292963-parallels-migration-license-questions.html)

kamerdoc23 01-08-2013 01:49 PM

Parallels Migration License Questions
 
So I'm in a small mess of a situation..

I have a MacBook Pro, and recently purchased Parallels 8 since there are two programs at work that refuse to work for a Mac.

Problem is one program is only for WIndows XP, and the other is for Windows 7/8.

I'm pretty sure making multiple virtual machines for each operating system won't be a problem. I have a licensed XP Disc and that installed fine.

My primary questions is regarding Windows 7/8...

I don't have a Windows 7 CD to do an install, but have a desktop with Windows 7 installed on it. HOWEVER I don't have the license number for that copy of Windows.

Should/Can I simply migrate that computer over to the Mac? Or will it ask me for a license number? I also do not have any experience with the migration so I don't completely understand how that works, I am going to start reading around about that now, but wanted to begin the thread and see if I could save some time.

Thanks for all your help, as always.

chscag 01-08-2013 07:06 PM

One license per machine, and since MS has activation in force you won't be able to migrate that copy of Windows 7 or 8. You need to purchase another copy of Windows 7 or 8 - and it has to be a full install version.

kamerdoc23 01-08-2013 07:37 PM

Thanks for the response....

I'm a little confused. What's the purpose of "migrating" if you simply have to purchase another license and install...that doesn't sound like migrating at all, just sounds like installing a new version of Windows.

chscag 01-08-2013 08:17 PM

Migrating Windows applications and data to Mac OS X is not the same as migrating an entire operating system for use in Parallels. The Windows Migration Assistant is a free download from the Apple servers: LINK. However, when installing Parallels or Fusion to create a virtual machine for Windows, you're expected to use a full install licensed version of Windows. Whether it be from a virtual machine or a dual boot using Boot Camp, Windows activation is required.

kamerdoc23 01-08-2013 09:01 PM

Now THAT makes total sense. Guess I'm off to buy a new copy of Windows...bummer.

Thanks for your help. Cleared everything up.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:09 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.