New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

 
Start a Discussion
 

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

First thread, first simple question hehe


Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

 
Thread Tools
Korgot

 
Member Since: Apr 24, 2012
Posts: 3
Korgot is on a distinguished road

Korgot is offline
Hi guys,
Well hopefully I'm posting this in the good place. First of all, I'm glad I found this forum of Mac enthusiasts, it will help me find a quick and clean answer to my question !

So I'm planning on mounting a 27'' iMac in my kitchen and use it both as a computer and as a television. But here's the thing, I'd like to be able to watch regular cable on it, basicly like I can atm with my old school 14 inch TV. So here's my question. What do I need to buy or do to be able to plug that kind of wire directly into my iMac or if not directly, to see the exact content and change channel normally on my Mac.



Thanks alot in advance guys !
QUOTE Thanks
mrplow

 
mrplow's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 01, 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,545
mrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 27" iMac i7 (2011) 10.9, iPhone5s, iPad3, AppleTV2

mrplow is offline
Welcome to the forums.

That's an 'F' connector you've got there.

I'm sure others will have more suggestions but the first place I'd look is the Elgato Hybrid USB stick:
EyeTV Hybrid - TV Tuner Stick for HDTV & Analog TV

External hard disk acquisition addict - but admitting the problem is the first step to a robust backup

Please use the reputation system if you think you've been helped - top right of this post
QUOTE Thanks
Korgot

 
Member Since: Apr 24, 2012
Posts: 3
Korgot is on a distinguished road

Korgot is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrplow View Post
Welcome to the forums.

That's an 'F' connector you've got there.

I'm sure others will have more suggestions but the first place I'd look is the Elgato Hybrid USB stick:
EyeTV Hybrid - TV Tuner Stick for HDTV & Analog TV
But can I directly plug the F cable (as you called it) in that eye tv device ?
QUOTE Thanks
Larry H

 
Larry H's Avatar
 
Member Since: Nov 21, 2009
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 107
Larry H is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: Mac Mini 2.53 Intel Core 2 Duo 4GB

Larry H is offline
Check out this page for that device. It shows an adapter to connect the device to an 'F' cable.
EyeTV Hybrid - System requirements, technical specifications & further information
QUOTE Thanks
mrplow

 
mrplow's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 01, 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,545
mrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond reputemrplow has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 27" iMac i7 (2011) 10.9, iPhone5s, iPad3, AppleTV2

mrplow is offline
Larry H has spotted it. But the best thing to do is email them directly, tell them who your cable supplier is and your plans to connect it to an iMac and get info straight from the horses mouth

External hard disk acquisition addict - but admitting the problem is the first step to a robust backup

Please use the reputation system if you think you've been helped - top right of this post
QUOTE Thanks
Korgot

 
Member Since: Apr 24, 2012
Posts: 3
Korgot is on a distinguished road

Korgot is offline
Perfect I purchased it ! But another question came to my mind. Is it possible to wall mount an iMac 27'' (newest version) ? I've looked for it around the web but seem to get different answers ... Thanks
QUOTE Thanks
Stretch

 
Stretch's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jan 13, 2007
Location: Central New York
Posts: 4,760
Stretch has much to be proud ofStretch has much to be proud ofStretch has much to be proud ofStretch has much to be proud ofStretch has much to be proud ofStretch has much to be proud ofStretch has much to be proud ofStretch has much to be proud ofStretch has much to be proud ofStretch has much to be proud of
Mac Specs: 15in i7 MacBook Pro, 8GB RAM, 60GB SSD, 500GB HD

Stretch is offline
According to this in the Apple Store you can get VESA mounts for the 27in iMac.

Blog and Photo Gallery: http://philolin.me/

Currently running OS X 10.9
QUOTE Thanks
chas_m

 
chas_m's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jan 22, 2010
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 15,733
chas_m has a reputation beyond reputechas_m has a reputation beyond reputechas_m has a reputation beyond reputechas_m has a reputation beyond reputechas_m has a reputation beyond reputechas_m has a reputation beyond reputechas_m has a reputation beyond reputechas_m has a reputation beyond reputechas_m has a reputation beyond reputechas_m has a reputation beyond reputechas_m has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 2009 MBP, Black speakers, Black Benq second monitor, black(ish) iPhone 5s, Black 2012 iPad, etc.

chas_m is offline
Since you are mounting this in the kitchen, please be aware of potential risks to the machine, including keeping it well away from steam, heat, food dust (like flour etc) and be sure not to block the either the air intakes on the bottom nor the heat exhaust vent on the top back.
QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


« Print Quality | Creating New Folders »
Thread Tools

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Simple Bootcamp Question esoteric_scribe Running Windows (or anything else) on your Mac 1 11-10-2008 05:36 PM
Simple question regarding Wireless Networks Tombini Internet, Networking, and Wireless 4 06-20-2008 03:35 AM
Internet Connection Sharing.. Simple Question.. Audio.Trench Internet, Networking, and Wireless 2 06-15-2008 09:12 PM
I am about to buy a Mac... Question Thread??? COZMOE00 Apple Notebooks 1 06-09-2008 07:16 PM
simple hard drive replacement question.... yesterday Apple Notebooks 2 02-13-2006 01:24 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
X

Welcome to Mac-Forums.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this community the ultimate source for your Mac since 2003!


(4 digit year)

Already a member?