My Desktop Was Deleted
    Hello, I normally don't mess with things I don't know how to use even though I'm pretty computer savvy. But I decided to try and mod my Minecraft game after telling myself I wouldn't do it.

Long story short I was putting a command in Terminal and it just deleted my entire desktop. My background is still there but all my folders and files on my desktop are gone. I've searched everywhere and couldn't find an answer to my questions which is this:

1. Is there any way of restoring my desktop?

2. Are the files permanently deleted?

3. Will the answer to those questions make me cry like a little child?

Any and all help will be greatly, greatly appreciated.

Specs:
    21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
    Quote Originally Posted by Kurosake View Post
    3. Will the answer to those questions make me cry like a little child?
    Yes

I won't be able to come up with a answer for you as i don't know the Terminal, but i will ask you to post exactly the command you put into to Terminal before the mishap.
    Doing this now will save time for when one of our command line guru's come int and see the thread they have something to work with straight away.
    Also post your Mac specs as well as what OS you are currently running.

Good luck.

Cheers
    Dont forget to use the Reputation System if someone has helped you out !!!
    Arguing with a zealot is only slightly easier than tunneling through a mountain with your forehead!!!!!
    MoTM ☆☆☆

I'm running Mac OS X Version 10.6.8

As far as the command is concerned If memory serves me well I believe this was the command I entered.

rm META-INF/MOJANG_C.*
    jar uf ~/Library/Application\ Support/minecraft/bin/minecraft.jar ./
    cd ..
    rm -rf mctmp

Specs:
    Mid-2012 MBP (16GB, 1TB HD), Monoprice 24-inch second monitor, iPhone 5s 32GB, iPad Air 2 64GB