New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

 
Start a Discussion
 

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

F12 key function is different


Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

 
Thread Tools
edpa777

 
Member Since: Nov 11, 2011
Posts: 2
edpa777 is on a distinguished road

edpa777 is offline
Hi,
There's gotta be a simple fix to this but I can't seem to stumble onto it.

My F12 key brings up/hides the Dashboard. Before I sent my MacBook in for repair during which my hard drive was wiped, my F12 key would spread out and display all my active windows on the desktop, a feature that I really liked. I was able to go to keyboard functions in Preferences and uncheck the box that assigned the Dashboard to the F12 key but now, of course, the F12 does nothing. So how do I get the F12 key to do what it did before?
Thanks in advance for any assistance!
QUOTE Thanks
vansmith

 
vansmith's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 19, 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 17,827
vansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 2012 13" MBP (2.5 i5, 8GB)

vansmith is offline
System Preferences > Expose & Spaces (if you're not using Lion) or Mission Control (if you're using Lion). You can change your keybinding here. If you're using Lion, assign F12 to Mission Control and Expose if you're using something other than Lion.

Important Links: Community Guidelines : Use the reputation system if you've been helped.
M-F Blog :: Write for the blog
Writing a Quality Post
QUOTE Thanks
edpa777

 
Member Since: Nov 11, 2011
Posts: 2
edpa777 is on a distinguished road

edpa777 is offline
Thank you, Mr. Smith, for the very quick and accurate assistance. It is very much appreciated!
QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


« Sending e-mail out of home Cox area-server issue | Mac Mini on HDTV »
Thread Tools

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Key / Trackpad Jam or Something royaltyler Apple Notebooks 0 10-21-2011 11:40 PM
My wireless keyboard key "Z" does not work! Vorlax OS X - Operating System 6 10-04-2011 01:15 PM
Keyboard Function Buttons donjasone Other Hardware and Peripherals 1 07-20-2010 05:19 PM
how to exchange fn and control key? nova OS X - Operating System 0 02-22-2009 04:04 AM
Question mark key isn't working after taking key off misspeak Apple Notebooks 0 02-18-2009 10:41 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
X

Welcome to Mac-Forums.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this community the ultimate source for your Mac since 2003!


(4 digit year)

Already a member?