New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Switcher Hangout The place for switchers to discuss their new machines, and how to work with OS X. General support can be had here for newbie stuff, like "How do I restart my new iMac?" :)

zip problem

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

John Greer

John Greer is on a distinguished road

I'm new to Apple (converted in June, from decades of PC).
I want to archive my MS Office backup files.
I had no trouble doing it on my PC, but I'm having trouble converting the command to run on my Mac.
I have it running (made it executable), but it's not finding my files.

When I run:
Code:
#!/bin/bash
zip -m -r -o -9 -dc -dd  /Volumes/Backup2048/Word /Volumes/*.wbk "/Volumes/Backup of*.docx"
I get these messages:
zip warning: name not matched: /Volumes/*.wbk
zip warning: name not matched: /Volumes/Backup of*.docx
btw - Backup2048 is my USB backup drive and HDD2048 is my internal drive.

HELP!

-John

27" iMac w 4x3.4 GHz, iPhone 5 wannabe, 64GB iPod Touch & MobileMe
QUOTE Thanks
Dysfunction

Dysfunction has a brilliant futureDysfunction has a brilliant futureDysfunction has a brilliant futureDysfunction has a brilliant futureDysfunction has a brilliant futureDysfunction has a brilliant futureDysfunction has a brilliant futureDysfunction has a brilliant futureDysfunction has a brilliant futureDysfunction has a brilliant futureDysfunction has a brilliant future
Mac Specs: 2008 and 2011 15" mbps, late 11 iMac, iPhone 4s, and too many ipods and other stuff