Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Switcher Hangout (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/)
-   -   zip problem (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/248506-zip-problem.html)

John Greer 08-23-2011 12:15 PM

zip problem

I'm new to Apple (converted in June, from decades of PC).
I want to archive my MS Office backup files.
I had no trouble doing it on my PC, but I'm having trouble converting the command to run on my Mac.
I have it running (made it executable), but it's not finding my files.

When I run:
Code:

#!/bin/bash
zip -m -r -o -9 -dc -dd  /Volumes/Backup2048/Word /Volumes/*.wbk "/Volumes/Backup of*.docx"

I get these messages:
zip warning: name not matched: /Volumes/*.wbk
zip warning: name not matched: /Volumes/Backup of*.docx
btw - Backup2048 is my USB backup drive and HDD2048 is my internal drive.

HELP!

Dysfunction 08-23-2011 02:37 PM

Ok, first.. what's the expected output? Are you trying to create a single zip of the contents of all .wbk files in

Volumes/Backup2048/Word\ /Volumes/

Or are you trying to zip each wbk file?

John Greer 08-23-2011 04:24 PM

I'm trying to create a single Zip file called WORD in the /Volumes/Backup2048/ folder. This zip file will contain all the *.wbk and Backup*.docx files on any drive on my iMac.

I think my problem is more fundamental.

:Confused:

If I say
ls -G -h -k -R /Volume/*.wbk
it returns
ls: /Volume/*.wbk: No such file or directory
yet if I drill down to the directory that contains the files, the LS command works. It's almost as if the -R switch is not working for this command. -R works for other files. Strange...

Dysfunction 08-23-2011 04:30 PM

Oh! Try this

find / -name *.wbk

That should show every file on your system (from the root dir / down). I really prefer find to ls for this type of work in general

chas_m 08-24-2011 12:39 AM