Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Switcher Hangout (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/)
-   -   Two Macs and nowhere to go.... (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/248439-two-macs-nowhere-go.html)

romer005 08-23-2011 12:32 AM

Two Macs and nowhere to go....
 
I am new to the forum, I hope this is the right one for my question.

I have two 13" white MacBook from the mid 2007: one 2 GHz Intel Core Duo processor, 1 GB 667 MHZ, OS X 10.5.8; the other a 1.83 GHz Duo and 512 MB 667 MHz, OS X 10.4.11
Many new programs don't work with them... should I get more memory and/or a new OS X (if feasible for my machines), or just let them go and get something new? No iPhone or iPad yet!:'(

Thank you, your comments will be very appreciated, I have been stuck with this issue not knowing what to do for long time...

chscag 08-23-2011 02:45 AM

Welcome to the Mac Forums.

Neither of your Macs are able to run Lion which means the latest version of OS X you can install is Snow Leopard. Both machines could certainly use more memory, however, since they're 4 years old it might be best not spend money on them. I would consider selling them and buying a later model MacBook or MacBook Pro.

scudder 08-23-2011 06:00 AM

Hi, I also have a mid 2007 core duo and I upgraded to 2GB RAM for less than 40. This made it possible to load Lion. It works perfectly. Go for the extra RAM and enjoy.

bobtomay 08-23-2011 06:43 AM

There is a big difference between 'Core Duo' and 'Core 2 Duo'.
The only MB's that had a Core Duo are from mid '06.
The MB's from '07 are all Core 2 Duo.
The 1.83 Ghz is a Core 2 Duo as there was never a Core Duo MacBook at that speed.

The Core Duo cannot run Lion.
The Core 2 Duo can run Lion.

The late '06 to mid '07 Core 2 Duo Mac notebooks can be upgraded to 4GB RAM (only 3GB can be used) which will maintain the dual channel capability and the hard drive can be upgraded to any 2.5" - 9.5mm SATA drive.

scudder 08-23-2011 08:02 AM

My bad, yes mine is a Core2Duo... sorry to raise his hopes

bobtomay 08-23-2011 08:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by scudder (Post 1286969)
My bad, yes mine is a Core2Duo... sorry to raise his hopes

That's ok - if both of the ops MacBooks are indeed from '07, they are also Core2Duo machines.

romer005 08-23-2011 12:42 PM

Hi and thanks you all! No wonder the confusion (and my ignorance...). Here is the clarification if that helps:
"About this Mac"
-for the one with OS X 10.5.8 2 GHz Intel Core Duo, Memory 1 GB 667 MHz
-for the one with OS X 10.4.11 1.83 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Memory 512 MB 667 MHz

bobtomay: I have my cup of coffee every day, do stupid things fast often enough (uh... energy depends on the weather, like most things in MN), do my best with trees... but eating a beaver?!!!... about things that come out of my mouth... too many too fast too much energy...
Live intensely, don't spend time regretting what's irreversible and cherish all you can... including beavers! they do stop some floods, after all...

romer005 08-24-2011 11:29 AM

Thank you, it makes a lot of sense. I'll do that, keep you posted.
Liked your essay, very useful since I never follow those rules, made my own folders and in the process I am sure diminished the efficiency of the machines... well, never too late to learn!

zacster 08-24-2011 02:46 PM

I wouldn't toss out the Core Duo machine quite yet. I have an iMac configured pretty much the same, with 1gb of ram and 2ghz processor and it runs fine. Just don't try to edit 1080p video on it.

romer005 08-25-2011 02:27 AM

That is good to know, they are such good machines I hate giving them up!

G4 ibookboy 08-25-2011 05:35 PM

what is the maximum amount of ram for a core duo imac with the 1.83 chip


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.