Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Switcher Hangout (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/)
-   -   Two Macs and nowhere to go.... (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/248439-two-macs-nowhere-go.html)

romer005 08-22-2011 11:32 PM

Two Macs and nowhere to go....
 
I am new to the forum, I hope this is the right one for my question.

I have two 13" white MacBook from the mid 2007: one 2 GHz Intel Core Duo processor, 1 GB 667 MHZ, OS X 10.5.8; the other a 1.83 GHz Duo and 512 MB 667 MHz, OS X 10.4.11
Many new programs don't work with them... should I get more memory and/or a new OS X (if feasible for my machines), or just let them go and get something new? No iPhone or iPad yet!:'(

Thank you, your comments will be very appreciated, I have been stuck with this issue not knowing what to do for long time...

chscag 08-23-2011 01:45 AM

Welcome to the Mac Forums.

Neither of your Macs are able to run Lion which means the latest version of OS X you can install is Snow Leopard. Both machines could certainly use more memory, however, since they're 4 years old it might be best not spend money on them. I would consider selling them and buying a later model MacBook or MacBook Pro.

scudder 08-23-2011 05:00 AM

Hi, I also have a mid 2007 core duo and I upgraded to 2GB RAM for less than 40. This made it possible to load Lion. It works perfectly. Go for the extra RAM and enjoy.

chas_m 08-23-2011 05:30 AM

You must mean Core2Duo; Core Duo aren't supported under Lion.

bobtomay 08-23-2011 05:43 AM

There is a big difference between 'Core Duo' and 'Core 2 Duo'.
The only MB's that had a Core Duo are from mid '06.
The MB's from '07 are all Core 2 Duo.
The 1.83 Ghz is a Core 2 Duo as there was never a Core Duo MacBook at that speed.

The Core Duo cannot run Lion.
The Core 2 Duo can run Lion.

The late '06 to mid '07 Core 2 Duo Mac notebooks can be upgraded to 4GB RAM (only 3GB can be used) which will maintain the dual channel capability and the hard drive can be upgraded to any 2.5" - 9.5mm SATA drive.

scudder 08-23-2011 07:02 AM

My bad, yes mine is a Core2Duo... sorry to raise his hopes

bobtomay 08-23-2011 07:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by scudder (Post 1286969)
My bad, yes mine is a Core2Duo... sorry to raise his hopes

That's ok - if both of the ops MacBooks are indeed from '07, they are also Core2Duo machines.

romer005 08-23-2011 11:42 AM

Hi and thanks you all! No wonder the confusion (and my ignorance...). Here is the clarification if that helps:
"About this Mac"
-for the one with OS X 10.5.8 2 GHz Intel Core Duo, Memory 1 GB 667 MHz
-for the one with OS X 10.4.11 1.83 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Memory 512 MB 667 MHz

bobtomay: I have my cup of coffee every day, do stupid things fast often enough (uh... energy depends on the weather, like most things in MN), do my best with trees... but eating a beaver?!!!... about things that come out of my mouth... too many too fast too much energy...
Live intensely, don't spend time regretting what's irreversible and cherish all you can... including beavers! they do stop some floods, after all...

chas_m 08-24-2011 01:30 AM

As stated earlier, the Core 2 Duo one is perfectly good (a little slow by today's standards, but good) and will upgrade to Lion if that's what you want to do. However, I would DEFINITELY bump up the RAM to 2GB or 3GB before doing so.

I'm writing this to you on a 2.16GHz Blackbook from 2007 with 3GB and Lion and it's AWESOME. Very fast for my needs (which are quite varied). Snow Leopard was very good for me as well, either one would be a good move once you've maxed out the RAM (and even better, the RAM for these machines is pretty inexpensive).

romer005 08-24-2011 10:29 AM

Thank you, it makes a lot of sense. I'll do that, keep you posted.
Liked your essay, very useful since I never follow those rules, made my own folders and in the process I am sure diminished the efficiency of the machines... well, never too late to learn!

zacster 08-24-2011 01:46 PM

I wouldn't toss out the Core Duo machine quite yet. I have an iMac configured pretty much the same, with 1gb of ram and 2ghz processor and it runs fine. Just don't try to edit 1080p video on it.

romer005 08-25-2011 01:27 AM

That is good to know, they are such good machines I hate giving them up!

G4 ibookboy 08-25-2011 04:35 PM

what is the maximum amount of ram for a core duo imac with the 1.83 chip


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.