Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Switcher Hangout (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/)
-   -   is it ok a MBP to be remain plugged even the battery is 100%? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/switcher-hangout/248340-ok-mbp-remain-plugged-even-battery-100-a.html)

BrainEater 08-21-2011 11:27 AM

is it ok a MBP to be remain plugged even the battery is 100%?

im a noob on MBP. is it ok if its remain plugged? will the battery will be damaged and it will affect battery life?

louishen 08-21-2011 12:29 PM

When the battery icon in the meny=u bar has a little plug in it then the mac is running of the mains direst, essentially resting the battery and hopefully making it last longer

chscag 08-21-2011 07:28 PM

Moved to correct forum. Not a topic for the "Lounge".

Doug b 08-21-2011 09:29 PM

It's fine to have it plugged it so long as you're working with it. When you walk away from it however, you should unplug it. Same for when you put it to sleep, unplug it. This practice will keep the battery at its peak health throughout its lifespan.

Doug

bobtomay 08-22-2011 05:50 AM

My wife has a MB, now 50 months old, which she has never unplugged from the wall outlet. It has been used on battery during that time only when I borrowed it.

The last time I checked it about a month ago, the original battery had less than 30 cycles, it has been calibrated exactly two times - only because I had borrowed and used it until it died - and the current capacity is currently 5% higher than original.

Meanwhile, my 56 month old MBP, used 65-70% plugged in and 30-35% unplugged with monthly calibrations as recommended by Apple is now on it's 3rd battery with replacement after the battery hit 1-1.5 hours max uptime.

Read Apple's recommendations at: http://www.apple.com/batteries/ - Follow all the links and educate yourself.