Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

absolute beginner
    hey everybody as the title suggests i'm a beginner to all things mac, i'm currently a student saving up to get a mac for college and wanted to know what i should get and all the pros and cons to a mac as i really don't know much about them.

Specs:
    2011 13" MBP 2.3ghz, 8gig ram, OS 10.8.5
    Two important questions to answer:

1. What do you expect your eventual budget to be? This will help narrow the choices.
    2. Do you need portability (laptop vs. desktop)? This will also help narrow the choices.

One additional important question...Are you committed to buying a Macintosh computer...or still deciding between a Mac or a Windows computer?

If you're still deciding...you really have to experience a Mac for yourself. This really is not an experience other users can convey to someone who is not familiar with Mac's. I would suggest going to a nearby store that has Mac's...and try them out.

- Nick
    - Too many "beachballs", read this: Beachballs
    - Computer seems slower than it used to? Read this for some slow computer tips: Speedup
    - Almost full hard drive? Some solutions. Out of Space
    - Apple Battery Info. Battery

My budget is about 1200 and it would have to be portable so I can use it in college. Also yes i have tried one before and am set on getting one just don't know where to start

Specs:
    Macbook Pro, 2.4GHz Core2 Duo 10.6.8, MacMini
    You could also look at the Mac Refurb store. Pagoo's post are good questions to ask yourself but I'd add 3) What do you want to use it for (Graphics, gaming, will you need windows progs for school etc).

A lot of additions, maintenance and alternatives are free and 'payware' is more of a matter of choice..